American Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

American Express Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
677 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can do more with work/life balance(in 261 reviews)

  • "Decentralised processes lead to non availability of complete picture of decision making(in 137 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (146)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Advice to Management

    Do 6-month evaluations with serious consideration for interior promotions before out-side-in hiring. Then hire only at the bottom level (entry). Let tech. decide when/who to promote for tech. because business holds the wallet, but doesn't necessarily know what's best.

    American Express2018-11-26
  2. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee 

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Great working culture and healthy environment

    Cons

    Relatively slow rate of growth

    American Express2019-07-03
  3. "Good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDE in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Managers Good bonus and pay

    Cons

    No as such cons ...

    American Express2019-10-18
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    1. Great facilities and benefits 2. You get to work with a wide variety of functions and leaders

    Cons

    1. Need to be more adaptable to change and be agile

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people

    American Express2019-10-17
  5. "Superb"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Good Work life balance available

    Cons

    The growth is Slow .

    American Express2019-10-17
  6. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at American Express full-time

    Pros

    It has always been my dream company

    Cons

    Can't think of anything bad about the company

    American Express2019-10-15
  7. "Resident Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Expert in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    45 days paid leaves per year

    Cons

    Growth Process is very slow

    American Express2019-10-16
  8. "Sr Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express full-time

    Pros

    Both side cabs was a benefit

    Cons

    Too much work pressure all the time

    American Express2019-10-16
  9. "True effort needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in Saket
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Educated enviroment Professionalism

    Cons

    Immense work pressure Hard to earn imcentives

    American Express2019-10-16
  10. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great Atmosphere to work 2. Work-Life balance 3. A great learning experience for a fresher (leaders focus on learning)

    Cons

    One may get accustomed to the protected, safe and easy workspace environment (which can slow down the zeal to achieve heights, although you can definitely grow if you want to)

    Advice to Management

    Congrats and thanks to the management for such a wonderful workspace

    American Express2019-10-13
Found 6956 reviews