SMA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

SMA Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SMA CEO Ajay Patel
Ajay Patel
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also despite being deployed by yourself or with a small group; SM&A's corporate office has always managed to keep me connected and feel supported(in 6 reviews)

  • "Very professional, smooth interview/onboarding process(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "In my opinion, there are no cons within the company itself(in 7 reviews)

  • "Open office environment makes it difficult to do your job(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMA part-time

    Pros

    Good Company for experienced developers

    Cons

    Nothing if you are willing to work hard

    SMA2017-10-06
  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SMA full-time

    Pros

    Get to learn lot more things practically

    Cons

    Salary is too delayed

    Advice to Management

    Please improve your hr department towards paying of salary to field executive

    SMA2019-10-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "So Far So Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    SQL Developer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA

    Pros

    Friendly Environment. Guys at Higher levels are easily approachable.

    Cons

    None till now All Good No Cons

    Advice to Management

    Till now i am the one taking advice.

    SMA2017-01-13

    SMA Response

    March 28, 2017CEO and President

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. Glad your experience is so positive – yes, we try to be approachable. You can call me at anytime. And myself and the whole management team is working more and more to get out into the field for more face-to-face communication. Recently we just hired two new people at HQ – one of their comments was how supportive and friendly the atmosphere at work is.... we've had significant change the past couple months and I believe it's all been for the better. Our clients are reacting very positively. Stay in touch! Ajay

    Show Less
  4. "Excellent Recruiting On Boarding . Special Thank You Lucy Beaudette, Very Helpful, Responsive, Professional, Friendly!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Opportunity to Utilize all your Business and Technical Skills. Excellent Compensation.

    Cons

    None that come to mind at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Company Leadership is Excellent, Very Experienced and Knowledgeable.

    SMA2019-05-18
  5. "Great Leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Where to start? There are so many good things to share. First of all, I report to the COO and work closely with the VPs and the CEO. SMA is a very flat organization, where even our interns get to interact with our C-Levels and of course there is no micromanagement at any level. Second, our leaders lead by example. They are the type of people that always roll-up their sleeves and stay close to the product.... They are not proud individuals but lead with confidence and grace. They pride in building people up and provide positive reinforcement when they see someone is doing right. Lastly, my co-workers care about each other. Many of them have formed long-term friendships that go beyond the SMA walls. I overall feel valued and appreciated, like nowhere else before.

    Show More

    Cons

    The CEO & COO are so close to the product that it may prevent them from actually understanding the view of the product users.

    Advice to Management

    My recommendation is to implement surveys and check-points to collect feedback and recommendations from Candidates, Associates and Clients on our TOD application to continue enhancing the value and usability of it. I would also recommend for us to grow the TOD marketing / help-desk, recruiting and sales team.

    SMA2019-05-16
  6. "Now for something completely different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proposal Writer in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My first, and I bet only, experience with a company that *helped me to apply*! Also, very slick and innovative virtual interview with an avatar. These guys have really thought about how to recruit and motivate people.

    Cons

    80% travel, but with bennies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    SMA2019-02-13
  7. "HR was very helpful during the hiring process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proposal Writer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a new employee with SMA . I will be working with proposal professionals who have extensive experience, are great listeners and eager to help new hires succeed.

    Cons

    There aren't any cons so far.

    Advice to Management

    None yet.

    SMA2019-02-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Long Term Employee (Proposal Mgr)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You will work with the smartest and most capable folks in the industry

    Cons

    Travel, but that is true of any company

    Advice to Management

    Keep expanding into new industries and clients

    SMA2019-01-24
  9. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SMA is a really great company to work for. The environment is small, non-hostile, friendly, understanding, and they care about their employees. There has been significant effort to improve the company whether that be location, roles, etc.. and it's shown that they care about growth. Overall, it's a great place to work at if you are looking for a career.

    Cons

    Alexa doesn't always register our answers on Jeopardy.

    SMA2018-11-19
  10. "Good Company, Nicest People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone works really well with others. - Very friendly office to work in - Really good Health benefits.

    Cons

    Need more Office Parties and happy hours.

    SMA2018-11-13
Found 91 reviews
</>Embed