USAA Reviews

Updated 15 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
387 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits and management team(in 627 reviews)

  • "Amazing Benefits; Amazing coworkers; great work-life balance(in 226 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "USAA has many former military ppl(in 135 reviews)

  • "Mostly call center environment if you don't want to take calls all day long(in 110 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great culture and sense of mission

      11 Apr 2021 - Product Development Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are friendly and great to work with, the strong sense of mission helps everyone rally around a common cause

      Cons

      Could have better compensation growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Job

      21 Aug 2018 - Design Engineer in Vijayawāda
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's my dream work in this company And well future and Good name about society

      Cons

      Actually developing on good knowledge peoples and hard work employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      NA

      20 Dec 2020 - Agent in Okhla
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing to say about this

      Cons

      Overall everything is going well

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company, Good Benefits, Good Bonus

      7 Sep 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus is same (% of salary) for all employees (no more Boss decision here) All benefits except Medical Insurance (its the way it works not the contribution) Opportunities exist to grow up or move into new technologies or businesses

      Cons

      Sometimes put more hours and work on weekends You need to have the right manager to grow and they change very frequently Very rigid processes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work. They really care about employees and lots of opportunities to grow.

      8 May 2015 - Risk Analyst in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Life work balance, great benefit package and nice colleagues. The goal of the company is providing the best service to its members. So, they treat employees the best to encourage them to do the same for members.

      Cons

      Slow IT support, limited interactions with industry. Banking business is not as mature as insurance.

      283 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work, great benefits and culture

      6 Dec 2017 - SIU Investigator I With 25 Years Experience in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent culture, honesty and devotion to members and employees. Incredible benefits and perks. Salary is average, but annual and Christmas bonus make it surpass competition. Excellent Veteran employment opportunity

      Cons

      IT. Remote employees/work at home/ often issues take many calls to resolve.

      Continue reading
      238 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      EH......

      11 May 2021 - Property Claims Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing coworkers and the first part of the training was okay.. we also got a bonus right away for covid and the benefits were amazing.

      Cons

      Management did not want us to be heard. most people in my class were uncomfortable going on the phones and taking live calls while we still were in training and all we ever got back was "it will be ok". Also, we were given out our managers and I never heard anything from mine, while everyone else was getting welcome emails. I sent an email to her and did not receive anything back from her. So I raised the attention to my training coach and she said oh she quit, we will find you another one. So I had to wait again to hear from yet another manager. There is a lot of miscommunication. When we were hired we were given times in our time zone of when things were going to start during training, and almost none of those times were correct, so we all either showed up 2 hours early or had to leave early because time was running longer than instructed. The training was all online and was not constructed to be at all, we were being talked at for hours and also not being online friendly. During training, we had coached who shared screens with us and we saw their chat talking bad about our team because we were not grasping the concept in the 1 hour we were taught it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Insurance Agent

      14 May 2021 - Member Retention Associate in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -They pay for and put you through a rigorous training program to prepare you for the role. You can get promoted very easily the first couple years. They have excellent benefits including health, paid time off, maternity and paternity leave etc.

      Cons

      The work environment is miserable. Micromanagement is an understatement. You will get weekly coaching with your manager to discuss why you are not meeting the unreachable goals. As an insurance agent, once you reach senior it becomes increasingly difficult to progress in the company and opportunities become scarce. If you want management you need to have a military background or go above and beyond off the clock by networking and participating in micro groups created by the company. Your every move will be tracked. It is a very high stress environment where many people end up utilizing FMLA for depression and anxiety due to the job and pressure.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Please read this review!! Proceed with caution.

      23 Apr 2021 - New Member Solutions Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, PTO, work at home.

      Cons

      THIS JOB IS STRESSFUL. This is a very challenging sales role, and believe me, it is a sales role. Only elite sales professionals will strive at this job, but you won’t be compensated as such (no commission, very little pay increases). In pursuit of being a compliant company and not getting slapped with fines, your sales “process” will be extremely filtered. They do not give you the tools to truly sell over the phone, but expect substantial results. Talking to perspective members and customers all day is like any call center job, it can weigh on you heavily and can be exhausting. USAA members/customers will talk to you with a sense of entitlement if they meet the eligibility requirements and will frequently attack you professionally, verbally, and in rare cases personally because of this perceived entitlement. This is a hard sales role, with at times difficult customers, high metric standards, and a lack there of tools to achieve your high sales goals. If you are a seasoned sales professional and bored in your life, this would be a great challenge to see if you can succeed in this environment. If you have little to no sales experience, you may struggle greatly. PROCEED WITH CAUTION!!!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not what it used to be

      11 May 2021 - Information Governance Advisor in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to work from home Lots of opportunities to move around throughout the organization Total benefits package is still fairly good Adapted extremely well to COVID

      Cons

      Recently cut back on some pretty awesome benefits USAA is becoming much more politically active, and passively imposing the position on its employees Overbearing workload in many areas Outdated infrastructure/tools

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,742 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with USAA Job Seekers

    Director-FASG Advice and Solutions
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    SIU Investigator I With 25 Years Experience
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at USAA? Share Your Experiences

    USAA logo
    or