Baringa Partners Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Baringa Partners Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Baringa Partners CEO Adrian Bettridge
Adrian Bettridge
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good understanding that being away from home can be a struggle from a work/life balance perspective(in 16 reviews)

  • "This is something I have never seen at any consultancy and one that sets Baringa apart and demonstrates how much they care about their people(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is variable across teams(in 22 reviews)

  • "While Baringa has an OK work life balance for a consultancy it is definitely worse that what we see at our clients'(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice culture but in danger of becoming like the Big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - very friendly and invest in social aspects - market leader in utilities consulting - strong repeat business from existing clients

    Cons

    - beginning to plateau in growth and moving closer to a big 4 feel - limited brand in non-utilities markets - lack of investment in office and technology - employee churn is increasing - international growth has been very slow so really only a UK focused company - diversity is limited and ambition in this area is not the strongest; partners largely grew up together and demonstrate a tendency to hire/promote in their... image

    Show More
    Baringa Partners2019-11-10
  2. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture , really enjoyed my time there

    Cons

    None noted other than general consulting concerns

    Baringa Partners2019-10-05
  3. "Going in the direction of the big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of travel, lots of growth

    Cons

    Moving in the direction of the big 4

    Baringa Partners2019-09-29
  4. "Analyst Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent clients, great exposure Amazing culture

    Cons

    No formal rotation for graduates

    Baringa Partners2019-09-13
  5. "Fantastic company with a great culture and strategy for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great culture, surrounded by massively competent people - Highly collaborative across teams - Autonomy and ability for everyone in the company to have a voice and bring ideas to the table - Really interesting projects and new propositions being developed - Good work life balance, you're expected to work hard for the time you're in work, but when you're home, you're home

    Cons

    - Central support functions are continually stretched despite doing a great job and need further investment - Pockets of 'Big 4' mentality in certain areas

    Baringa Partners2019-08-20
  6. "A good place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks Good mix of well qualified people Good senior input - they actually deliver on projects Lots of people who genuinely care about client delivery and employees

    Cons

    Really team dependant - some teams are quite formal and have a bit of a hangover from people being ex accenture Some teams are smaller and have more personality but quality of projects being sold is poorer Not following through on all promises made in recruitment - difficult to hold people to account on this

    Advice to Management

    Don't offer things you can't provide Focus on selling quality work over volume and you'll keep your best employees interested - you're only as good as the people you're selling - sometimes it feels like that is getting forgotten

    Baringa Partners2019-09-03
  7. "A good employer who wants the best for its people and clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great people - Recognition of hard work - Striving to get the best out of its people

    Cons

    - Decreasing salary competitiveness - Increasing 'non Baringa' type of culture with some newer Partners.

    Baringa Partners2019-08-14
  8. Helpful (24)

    "A stepping stone: Culture diluted by too-fast growth and lack of infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baringa Partners full-time

    Pros

    Many reviews here are criticised for being fake, one-sided or posted by very disgruntled former employees. I am a former employee, but I am not disgruntled. Overall I enjoyed my time at Baringa but I have come to the conclusion that this was not a place to build a career. I have included in my review below an honest account and examples of what it did not work for me in the hope that these insights may help... potential employees with their own decisions. - Baringa is a nice place to work, the firm is "people-focused" and an effort is made to make you feel part of the Baringa family. - Hours while I was there were very reasonable, especially for consulting. They are flexible employers, and seem to make more effort to look out for individual needs more than other firms. - They have quite open access to their leadership team, who are in-large proactive to engage with those they lead. - Many people here are hired from well-respected big-name firms, and bring with them a finesse and polish that you will not find in the industry hires – these are great people to learn from if you are new to consulting. - There is a large emphasis on growth, and this comes with the opportunity for autonomy and trust in your ability to contribute to the growth of the company. Everyone is very ambitious to continue this growth, whether it is to recruit people in, connect with your contacts or sell-on more work in clients. The spirit and ambition is there but the capability, strategic-thinking and basics of business are overlooked. - The structure is flat, and they are open to ideas and execution of them from any level of the organisation. - This is a good place for a career stepping stone or as a taste of consulting but not a place to build a career unless you are going in as a Partner. It’s a nice Partner role in comparison to other consulting firms, and their Partnership model is unique in that it encourages Partners to focus on their “legacy” to the firm even past retirement.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where Baringa falls down is in the business basics: - The office space is not engaging or set up for collaborative working. It is not fit for the size of the firm so many people don't come into the office at all as there are no desks for them. This impacts on team morale, inclusiveness and creates barriers within teams. I understand there was an opportunity to address this recently when their current office space... contract was up for negotiation, but nothing came to fruition so this will remain an ever-increasing issue for the coming years. - The internal corporate team, the engine of any business, has had little to no investment or growth in comparison to the consulting side - with the exception of the recruitment team. This leaves a lot of the basics of running a consulting business to the consultants - such as invoicing, following up on contracts, resourcing etc. I believe they are looking into this now, and have appointed new leadership, but it will not be a quick fix. - Business expenses fall to the employee personally. The only credit card they will support is American Express which is not accepted in many of the cities and towns outside of London where the majority of their work is based. Large business expenses therefore are often left for the individual to pay on their personal credit card. Expenses are only paid once a month and the finance approvers are hit-and-miss, so there has been a few times where I have had to foot the bill for large client delivery expenses and been left out of pocket for 2 months. The same scrutiny is not applied to Partners and Directors, and some of the stories relayed from EA's of their behaviour charging expenses out of policy is a real kick in the teeth for junior levels who will not even be entitled to a breakfast at 5:30am while travelling to work with clients. - Benefits are not reflective of a 10 year old consulting company with their client list. This can be frustrating for junior ranks, who are paid less than competitors and without their benefits. A simple example is that no mobile phone is provided or no offer to supplement your phone-bill / internet is included. Even when you are out working remotely with a client you have to foot the bill yourself. - The growth strategy is a self-fulfilling prophecy. They are growing, and fast. However, this has impacted the quality of their consultants and has brought about “bad fits” that impact the culture. Culture is their main differentiator, and it is being beaten down the more they grow. Increased hiring is not the only area that is growing too fast, their attempt to break into several different markets in the same financial year is a worrying thought, and non-organic growth targets only fuels the increased recruitment drive, and so on… - The commercial aspect of the consulting business is a taboo. At Baringa, there is no talk of “sales” or any commercial aspects of what it takes to run a consulting business. This originated from their drive to be “people-focused” rather than “sales-driven”, but now at the scale they are this seems very odd and you can see people moving to leadership positions who have no concept of their role to win interesting work for their team. - Brand awareness is null. This is surprising when you become privy to their client list. Perhaps this is reflective of the lack of investment in the marketing team, or more likely an over-reliance on an events-manager who appears to prioritises site-visits abroad for an annual internal event over expanding brand awareness with external events in London. The branding aspect is an easy fix, but one that is not addressed. It is certainly not helped by a culture of “brand-bashing” of other consulting firms, or (embarrassingly) comparing themselves to being better than the world’s top consulting firms. This narrative is starting to breed an unwarranted sense of superiority into a firm that no-one has heard of. - Culture can become controlling at times. I have seen a new-joiners probation review take into account a lack of social time with her team, not going to informal after-work drinks with co-workers, and instead spending Friday evenings with their own friends. When pressed on this, they said “that’s just not our culture, we are all friends here”. Forced fun, a lack of regard for use of personal time in the evenings and weekend, and willingness to arrive to work before 8am on Friday morning in the hope you manage to find a desk space should not play such a big role in probation considerations. You should be able get on well with your colleagues at work and perform well without buying a round at happy-hour. This is further heightened by the established of “cliques”, the firm is actively trying to break down their “cliques” within teams – which seems odd for a company who prides themselves on their culture. - This is a London based firm, with a very small presence in New York and Germany. The website can be quite misleading by listing several office locations. Some of these are “post-boxes” (Dublin), others only have 2 people (Australia), but overall any office outside of London is under-performing and minimally staffed. Keep in mind that you will be based out of London, and there is little opportunity for moving between offices unless you are willing to take a pay cut and put your career trajectory at risk. Take the above Cons into consideration for your decision to work with Baringa, and go in with an open mind to the reality of the firm beyond the aspect of “culture”. This could be a great place to learn, but do consider the above if you are looking beyond that for somewhere you want to stay and grow a career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back and focus on fixing what you have before growing beyond control. Almost everything listed in the Cons section can be made actionable. They may appear as small things individually, but when you add them all up they really do weigh upon your employees. Senior leaders need a little dose of reality, and to walk in the junior ranks shoes asking if they truly believe they are providing a "great place to... work" at this salary point, without many benefits and little opportunity for training. Act before your differentiator (culture) dissolves completely, because you are on track to being just like the “big 4s” that you are so desperate to avoid….. only without the benefit of the market presence and recognition.

    Show More
    Baringa Partners2019-04-29
  9. Helpful (6)

    "It works for some, but not everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baringa Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company lives on having a different culture to the big consulting firms. And there is a lot of effort in the company to be different and have certain mechanisms in play to create that atmosphere. The company events are really important to everybody, and a lot of effort (and expense) is put into them. And it is this whole 'culture' ethos that makes people behave in a friendly way. As Baringa recruits from other... big consulting firms, you will get the chance to work with consultants that come with structure and methodologies. I think for more junior consultants this is a real bonus, as the access to partners is pretty easy as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    I feel this whole talk of culture has become a facade. For me the most important thing about work is that satisfaction of learning, developing and doing good. This was lacking from my point of view. I joined a new practice where the type of work was not that important as long it helped to reach the annual revenue target. And aggressive targets, in my experience, mean that individual development becomes second or... third tier. To me culture is something that goes beyond the gimmicks (parties, events, best workplace awards), but is shown through the little, mundane things. I saw too many behaviours on a day-to-day basis (outside of the corporate events and processes where a scripted culture comes to forefront) that made me question how this was such a different place than one of the big firms. I think the main issue for big consulting firms is that they want a certain polished type, with diversity just an external characteristic. Unfortunately I felt the same applied to Baringa. So that's why I think this company works well for some people, but I don't think it's a place where every light can shine.

    Show More
    Baringa Partners2019-05-06
  10. Helpful (7)

    "lost its great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Baringa Partners full-time

    Pros

    the old crew still sticks to the core values

    Cons

    new leadership pretty much destroyed the company

    Baringa Partners2019-05-08
Found 119 reviews