Box Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 697 of over 739 reviews

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Box Co-founder and CEO Aaron Levie
Aaron Levie
529 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, really good work-life balance(in 51 reviews)

  • "Excellent work/life balance (most teams)(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No 401k match (which has been a pain point for many years, and leadership continues to glaze over this despite massive demand from employees)(in 40 reviews)

  • "There is no 401k match and honestly Box can do better with making an initiative to do that(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      I feel old at this company, yet can't seem to leave.

      Apr 22, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's all about the people, people, people. Every team I've been on at Box for the past 7 years has been filled with supportive, intelligent, humorous, down-to-earth folks, and I can't stress how big of a positive impact that has made for me in my day-to-day. The work is constantly challenging -- with the support system from my colleagues and manager I'm able to grow and take on harder assignments knowing they'll have my back if I run into roadblocks. I also feel like my manager does a great job advocating for me and creating a safe space for me to voice my concerns if anything comes up. Lastly, the cafeteria fries (pre-covid obviously) is some of the best I've ever had.

      Cons

      Transitioning to a more mature company, Box is still battling through EOL'ing some legacy tools and products. Migrating off of these old systems takes time and we don't always have the resources to do it while continuing to successfully run the business. There certainly have been moments of frustration in asking for these resources and seeing our tech debt only growing - it wasn't until recently that this has changed for the better and we've been able to get some new hires to help us through it.

      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Manager

      Sep 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very good package and cool working enviroment

      Cons

      time problem sometimes else very good

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about Box

      Join the conversation on

      Tech India

      6.2K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/tech-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.in&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Box~254092
      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Box has a lot of driven, passionate, and intelligent people. The company has great benefits and respects its employees. The ESPP program is incredible with an option to purchase at a 15% discount with a rate that locks in for two years. Additionally, there is room to grow here if you put your hand up.

      Cons

      It still functions like a startup which has it's perks, but also sometimes feels like we're moving faster than we can handle.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Ok company to work for

      Oct 22, 2021 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great CEO and good perks such as snacks and drinks.

      Cons

      Became very political over the years - growth opportunities & promotions biased towards select functions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great young company

      Oct 4, 2021 - Senior Sales Technical Leader in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Young environment, everyone has a mission, fast paced, creative environment, pressure to perform.

      Cons

      There is a fair amount of turnover.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company with an excellent product

      Oct 11, 2021 - Senior Solution Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great Company Culture - Good product - Unlimited PTO

      Cons

      - Not 401K Matching - Difficult to get promoted

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Cyber security Analyst

      Oct 11, 2021 - Analyst II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - free snacks - catered food -inclusion

      Cons

      - work and life balance -leadership

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Oct 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is very competitive and good

      Cons

      Work hours are a too much

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place I've ever worked

      Sep 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product, great leadership team, great vision, great culture

      Cons

      five words needed for this space

      1 person found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good condition and super supportive culture

      Sep 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment to expand your capability. People are supportive and have good intent.

      Cons

      In Japn, having less diversity. More than 98% are Japanese. The average age may be over 40. Need to be able to speak fluent Japanese as N1.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 697 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Box Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Box? Share Your Experiences

    or