IBM Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

IBM Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Karan Bajwa (no image)
Karan Bajwa
114 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (30)

    "Best Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Business Analyst in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Global culture Rich values around Giving Back to Community Best work-life balance Best place for diversity

    Cons

    Top-down culture Local governance Location wise opportunities are little less

    Advice to Management

    Recommend transparency in appraisal system

    IBM2018-11-14
  2. "Good Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SSO Specialist in Hyderābād

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Oragnization , good roles, good career options

    Cons

    Did not find any such cons

    IBM2019-08-05
  3. "IBM: always a right choice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Comfort, less work, politics, great learning time from IBM portals

    Cons

    Politics, less work, low salary, career ruined with support project.

    Advice to Management

    Should have some good growth for lower level salary people.

    IBM2019-10-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Associate System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Systems Engineer in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance tea and coffee free

    Cons

    no growth Salary hike is too low

    IBM2019-10-15
  5. "Company is good but bad project management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible, benefits and policies are good

    Cons

    bad project management and especially the Account head of our project is not professional

    Advice to Management

    Please improve project management

    IBM2019-10-18
  6. "IBM GBS Review - Associate System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Nice work environment 2. Structured management 3. Facility of work-from-home (although it depends more on the Project in which you are there as well as your manager) 4. There is push from upper management to keep learning newer technologies, such as Big Data, Analytics, Cloud, etc.

    Cons

    1. Almost no increment (IBM was in continuous losses at that time, so it might be a factor) 2. The default increment (the default hike in salary when you complete one year in the company) varies every year. Like, one of my colleagues got close to 20% hike whereas in my case it was around 12%, even though he had joined only 5 months before me.

    Advice to Management

    It would be best if the starting salary for freshers would be more. Also, more team-building trips and excursions would be great.

    IBM2019-10-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Workplace but Low Paymaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Package Solution Specialist in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Flexible workhours and no limit on number of hours worked. 2. Unlimited Sick and casual leaves 3. Employee Centric Organisation 4. Work Form Home whenever needed 5. Agile Workculture

    Cons

    1. Very Lowpaymaster. You get hike once in 3-4 years gap 2. Even though you have unlimited Sick and casual leaves there is utilization which is checked and discourage you from taking leaves. Also no leave encashment 3. You cannot approach HR directly, for every personal issue you have to contact either your Manager or lock online request

    Advice to Management

    I know IBM is US based company, but in India we have around 4-5% inflation and so Salary hike should be atleast as per inflation and not in every 3-4 years. Also I can understand if Planned/Sick/Casual leave lowers my utilization but why Public Holiday lowers my Utilization, this really has bad impact on my utilization.

    IBM2019-10-16
  8. "Production Control Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Production Control in Bangalore

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Place to work for employess

    Cons

    Very less Increments for employee

    IBM2019-10-18
  9. "Senior Software Engineer review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work time flexibility Diversity Great knowledge sources are available. Only need to know how to use it and grap opportunities appropriately

    Cons

    Salary Top down employee hierarchy approach while giving importance to employees Not a place for great growth. Policies are defined well. But management doesn't keep an eye on whether those are followed practically or not.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on resource management. Keep a track on how policies are honestly followed by management fellows. Take care of employees. they will take care of your business.

    IBM2019-10-18
  10. "Happy to be part of IBM family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Growth and Learning opportunities in IBM

    Cons

    Compensation and appraisals are not as per industry standards

    IBM2019-10-17
Found 8071 reviews
</>Embed