NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory CEO Michael Watkins
Michael Watkins
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "A good work/life balance with a 9/80 schedule where you work 9 hours each work day and get every other Friday off(in 60 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, amazing mentors(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for a software engineering internship(in 15 reviews)

  • "Projects/missions take a very long time to complete (3 to 5(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Space Microbiologist in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reputation of the company in the world

    Cons

    No downside for this company

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-07-14
  2. "Helping hands are better than praying lips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent and the understanding atmosphere where we can focus on our carries

    Cons

    Hope we will get some time for studying

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-07-03
  3. "com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Programmer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I want 100% of my mind in that company

    Cons

    I get a vacation from time

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2017-11-18
  4. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory part-time

    Pros

    There is an amazing Work-Life Balance and it is a very supportive community.

    Cons

    I truly felt that I enjoyed this internship very well and had no complaints.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-10-22
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Group Supervisor in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great environment and culture

    Cons

    Bureaucracy ridden. No support for GS. Old boys network turning quickly into new girls network.

    Advice to Management

    Only women are being promoted... why is gender outweighing experience, skill set, etc.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-11-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Unethical and Preferential Hiring Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asministrative in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work being done here. Love working with such intelligent engineers. The environment is lovely and has a college feel to it.

    Cons

    To much management (top heavy). They need to get rid of current HR staff and start from scratch. Hiring practices are unethical and reflects preferential treatment towards specific ethnic backgrounds.

    Advice to Management

    There are employees who still come in and perform above what is required. Just because they've been with the company over 10 years doesn't mean they don't have anything to offer. Stop taking advantage of employees (contractors as well). Cut down on the nepotism, preferential treatment when it comes to hiring.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-10-20
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineering in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Allows for work on multiple fascinating projects

    Cons

    Can be bogged down by red-tape at times

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-10-16
  8. "Great atmosphere with a variety of projects and room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    University-like atmosphere, knowledgeable colleagues, a variety of different projects and positions with a lot of movement for people every few years, excellent pay and benefits (especially for government-like work)

    Cons

    Some project phases require long hours (but the reward is worth it!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep developing people as leaders, and not just engineers, and the workforce will continue to get even stronger.

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-09-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place if you're looking for comfort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - 9/80 schedule means every other Friday off - Great colleagues - Stable position - Interesting work

    Cons

    - Parking is absolutely horrible - Slow to adopt modern perks (e.g. telecommute) - Salary not competitive relative to private companies, although the work/life balance somewhat makes up for this - Contract changes meaning more NASA oversight, for better or worse - Hard to retain younger talent due to older ways of doing things

    Advice to Management

    Be quicker in recognizing what's happening in industry

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-09-29
  10. "Excellent Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Robotics Inter in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working on crazy awesome stuff like spacecrafts that could go to other planets or cutting edge robots, people are cool and smart and interesting and enjoy talking about their work, hours are reasonable, the cafeteria is not horrible (not great either)

    Cons

    public job so there's a lot of hoops to jump though to buy stuff, pay isn't great

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory2019-09-13
Found 487 reviews