dataxu Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

dataxu Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
dataxu CEO Mike Baker
Mike Baker
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management values time-in-seat more than productivity(in 5 reviews)

  • "In some cases, the re-orgs are a result of reduction in force, while in other cases they are due to departures of key stakeholders(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at dataxu full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant people all around. Senior management is super knowledgable and at the same time approachable. Relevant technologies to play with. Company believes in its employees.

    Cons

    Nothing as such but should try focus on how to market the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    dataxu2015-05-21
  2. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Can learn big data

    Cons

    Company got closed. Nothing else

    dataxu2019-10-07
  3. "Great place to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at dataxu full-time

    Pros

    Intellectual people around, work-life balance and lots of learning

    Cons

    Poor management Most teams still not fully staffed

    dataxu2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent and motivated co workers Easy going The India Leadership is excellent

    Cons

    The company can be a lot more aggressive to achieve new heights

    dataxu2017-04-12
  5. "Its a Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at dataxu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, cutting edge tech, access to the CEO and other members of the leadership. There are some phenomenally intelligent people at this company and, whats more they are willing to work with you. The product is getting better every quarter and it's a very compelling offering. The mid-management in the sales team, the product team, the engineering teams and the client services team are all rock solid.

    Cons

    There have been a number of re-orgs (I am still here though and just practically speaking, it was imperative that we go through them). The executives and more specifically HR haven't been great at communicating or handling these re-orgs. I agree with many on here that HR (or People 'Strategy') is lacking. I wish we had more features released sooner but that's probably within every organization.

    Advice to Management

    Be more sensitive to your employees during re-orgs. Focus on getting more product out the door so we can continue to grow the business. Also this post is of my own accord.

    dataxu2019-08-22
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Company Failing Due To Manager Negligence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Openwork environment. Free soda. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Manager inexperience. CEO Negligence. Not letting anyone grow within the company.

    Advice to Management

    You gotta clean house and get someone else in there. Chris Sullivan needs to be replaced stat. He's so out of touch with current trends that he continuously leads the company to financial failure leading to back-to-back layoffs this year.

    dataxu2019-08-20
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Falling fast and hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, plenty of smart and hard-working people all around

    Cons

    - 3 “re-orgs” (layoffs) just in 2019 - upper management woefully out of touch with reality and has no understanding of how to keep company afloat and employees motivated - pays below market

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are not stupid and realize how bad things are. Stop treating them like children.

    dataxu2019-08-10
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Company Going Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at dataxu full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally speaking, colleagues are nice and willing to help. There are a lot of great minds to learn from.

    Cons

    RE-ORGS: I've been here for 6+ years. I've watched this company go through reorg after reorg. This past year alone, we've had 3 reorgs which resulted in many layoffs. We've also had to shut down offices (Brazil, India, Detroit). PERKS: Perks have gone downhill. We used to have free weekly lunches. This has gone down to when we just have a company meeting (about bi monthly). Boston Inno Coolest Company To... Work For: They forgot to mention that they incentivize their employees to vote by offering gift cards. As a result, engineers write scripts that they run all day to help vote. No Loyalty: I've watched this company layoff people who are extremely dedicated to this company (eat, breathe, and sleep dataxu). There is no loyalty here. They only care about their bottom line and will do what they can stay afloat as revenue has been declining quarter after quarter. Not Recognized for hard work: Don't bother putting in the hours, just work your 8 hour shift. Company doesn't recognize or care that you're going above and beyond.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management seems to be reactive to the decline in revenue vs. being proactive and trying to be one step ahead of the game.

    dataxu2019-07-21
  9. Helpful (11)

    "One of the fastest declining companies in the Boston area..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at dataxu full-time

    Pros

    1. Unlimited PTO 2. Frequently touts itself as one of the finalists of BostonInno's Coolest companies 3. Generally speaking, coworkers are nice and kind

    Cons

    1 . The only constant at the company is the perennial re-org Can't remember how many re-orgs this place has undergone in the past few years. In some cases, the re-orgs are a result of reduction in force, while in other cases they are due to departures of key stakeholders. Exodus has almost become a constant theme 2 .The exec team doesn't seem to have a concrete clue about how to fix the company except for... going after whatever businesses that are trending 3. Did I mentioned that the company has had multiple company-wide employee data breach in recent years? No clear accountability after the incident. Several former employees were on their own to take care of potential identity theft.

    Show More
    dataxu2019-07-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Client Servicing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at dataxu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tech works and strong positioning in the TV space.

    Cons

    Too much politics within the office. A lack of direction in senior management.

    dataxu2019-07-20
Found 97 reviews