Shell Energy Retail Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 366 of over 397 reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Ed Kamm
Ed Kamm
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Motivational and engaging working environment(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great team, flexible working, good management(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pension scheme could be improved(in 20 reviews)

  • "No sick pay and longer working hours(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Jan 19, 2021 - SSE in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, pay master

      Cons

      None cons as of now

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Thanks very much for your 5-star review! It's great to read that you have no cons to share as part of your feedback. I noticed your location and as we at SERL don't have offices in India, it looks like your review may have been intended for Royal Dutch Shell. Unfortunately I can't forward your review to the main Shell page, but please do re-post it there, so that the right people have sight of your feedback. I hope your 5-star experience continues as you progress on your journey with Shell. Thanks again, Eleanor

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Work culture

      Feb 24, 2021 - Program Director in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good employer to work with

      Cons

      Quality of work not satisying

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I noticed your location and as we have offices currently in the UK, Poland and Germany, it seems that your review was intended for Royal Dutch Shell, rather than Shell Energy Retail. I'm afraid I'm unable to re-route your review myself, but please do re-share your review on the main Shell page, as our colleagues at Shell will be grateful for your feedback. Thanks again, Eleanor

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Na

      Nov 1, 2020 - Project Manager in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing to say...Good company to work with

      Cons

      Salary wise need increase to the pack

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Industry Giant with a great repo globally but Indian IT-Management you can imagine:)

      May 15, 2020 - IT Advisory - Business Analyst in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Salary - Flat World Culture (Good collaboration opportunity across the energy domain) - Industry Exposure and opportunities for IT innovators to Digitally transform a dead/ Monolithic IT landscape

      Cons

      - IT Mid & Senior Management engagement with Indian Management is horrendous. - 99% of People Mangers in Shell India are from Wipro & IBM service delivery so you can imagine the rest. - Absolutely no respect for Work Life balance when it comes to Indian employees thanks to the above factor

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Thank you for posting a review. I noticed your location and I wonder if your review is meant for Royal Dutch Shell and the main Shell company page - we are Shell Energy Retail and supply sustainable home energy solutions in the UK. We are part of the Shell Group, but are a separate company. So that your feedback can be seen by the relevant people, can I suggest you re-post your review on the main Shell page: https://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Overview/Working-at-Shell-EI_IE5833.11,16.htm Best of luck with your future career, Eleanor

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Best oil and Gas Employer in India

      Feb 23, 2020 - Project Engineer in Surat
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good remuneration, Work-life balance, training

      Cons

      Site location little bit remote

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Thank you for posting a review. I noticed your location and I wonder if your review is meant for Royal Dutch Shell and the main Shell company page - we are Shell Energy Retail and supply sustainable home energy solutions in the UK. We are part of the Shell Group, but are a separate company. It's great to read that you felt your remuneration and training was good and that the work / life balance suited you. So that your feedback can be seen by the relevant people, can I suggest you re-post your review on the main Shell page: https://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Overview/Working-at-Shell-EI_IE5833.11,16.htm Best of luck with your career, Eleanor

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Long term employee

      Oct 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Employees treated with respect. Good policies and work life balancr

      Cons

      Jobs not competitive in external market

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Thank you for posting a review. I noticed your location and I wonder if your review is meant for Royal Dutch Shell and the main Shell company page - we are Shell Energy Retail. We supply sustainable home energy solutions in the UK. We are part of the Shell Group, but are a separate company. It's great to read that you're enjoying your experience and that you feel you are treated with respect. So that your feedback can be seen by the relevant people, can I suggest you re-post your review on the main Shell page: https://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Overview/Working-at-Shell-EI_IE5833.11,16.htm Best of luck with your career and further development with the Shell Group, John.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Mar 10, 2020 - Project Manager/Scrum Master in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, grt environment

      Cons

      Policies are not so good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Thank you for posting a review. I noticed your location and I wonder if your review is meant for Royal Dutch Shell and the main Shell company page - we are Shell Energy Retail and supply sustainable home energy solutions in the UK. We are part of the Shell Group, but are a separate company. It's great to read that you felt you had a great working environment in Pune. So that your feedback can be seen by the relevant people, can I suggest you re-post your review on the main Shell page: https://www.glassdoor.co.uk/Overview/Working-at-Shell-EI_IE5833.11,16.htm Best of luck, Eleanor

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      No opportunities for Part-Timers

      Jul 2, 2021 - Customer Service in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working at shell and love my job! I love the managers and my colleagues however I may have to leave due to no opportunities for part-timers.

      Cons

      After 3 years i went part time after having my son. Since then there are no opportunities and although they say ‘you can apply for anything’ I have been passed over many times for full timers. I honestly think they need to look at how they treat part-timers as I have worked there for 5 years, and have been static in my role now for 2 years due to just being a mummy. I am thinking I will have to leave.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great inclusive culture

      Jun 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support and flexibility for employees throughout lockdown. Friendly open and inclusive culture. Supportive manager and team. Accessible Exec team who are open to feedback from anyone in the organisation. A company who genuinely care about employee wellbeing.

      Cons

      Lack of clarity about the degree of integration with the wider Shell group both now and in the planned future.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Thanks very much for your 5-star review! Thank you for particularly mentioning the great support and flexibility you've experienced, alongside our genuine care for employee wellbeing. Our wellbeing strategy transformed along with the evolution of the pandemic, we had to ensure all colleagues were aware of the support available and where to go / who to go to, as the need for help presented itself. From the great feedback we received, we know that awareness is there, which is especially important considering remote working. That isn't the end of the journey though! We will need to continue to listen to feedback and consider how that informs our approach, particularly as we support our colleagues during the transition to a hybrid way of working. Thank you for your feedback on the clarity of information on integration with the wider Shell Group, I will certainly feed that back to the Leadership Team. Whilst we do receive good feedback on the transparency of our communications, again, we need to listen to understand where there may be opportunities to help ensure understanding. Thank you as well for your advice to management. Absolutely agree, maintaining the culture that we had pre the pandemic in a remote setting and as we transition to new ways of working is imperative to engagement, wellbeing, job satisfaction etc. It does form part of regular leadership conversations and I will take your point on leadership accessibility specifically to the next session. Thanks again for your review, Eleanor.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Committed to building a great place to work

      Jan 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at Shell Energy for over 6 years and have seen significant change in this time, but the core of the business has remained steady - building a workplace to be proud of, and delivering excellent customer service. There is a genuine, and evident, commitment to diversity, and this isn't a one-time focus, it is embedded in our culture. There's much more to be done in this area, but I'm confident that the business is taking the right actions to build an inclusive organisation, that I, for one, feel proud to work for. The development opportunities I've seen are fantastic too, there is a genuine desire from the business to develop talent from within, and I've felt very supported by my manager and colleagues in progressing my career at Shell Energy. Having the business working remotely has been challenging for me, but I've felt the support from everyone in the business to make this a success, and not lose the commoradarie that makes Shell Energy such a good place to work. Other reviews will have mentioned it, but one of the best things about working at Shell Energy is the people - everyone is working towards a common goal of being a positive, successful and responsible energy supplier, and the collaboration makes this straightforward and enjoyable. To summarise, I really enjoy working at Shell Energy and I don't see this changing anytime soon!

      Cons

      The benefits on offer could be better, and whilst these have absolutely improved over the last couple of years, there is more progress to be made.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for the time and care you've put into your feedback. I couldn't agree more - your words echo so genuinely the ethos we live - building a workplace to be proud of and delivering excellent customer service. It's certainly been a journey, and in your time with us you will have experienced first-hand the challenges and transformations as they've evolved, but again to echo your point, it's having confidence in the business to do the right thing. Thank you for sharing that your experience during your time with us has given you that confidence - that's wonderful to hear. I'm so pleased you've felt supported in your career progression with us, as well as during these challenging times. I'm sure you will, but please do reach out if you need any additional support. It's heartening to hear you mention our great people as key to that support. I agree with you - my team and wider colleagues through the camaraderie we share have made those challenging days much easier. I'm personally also very grateful to work with such brilliant people. Thank you again for sharing your enjoyment of life at Shell Energy Retail and for your continued individual contribution to our success! Eleanor

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 366 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shell Energy Retail Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Shell Energy Retail? Share Your Experiences

    Shell Energy Retail logo
    or