Zillow Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance (interns didn't have tons of pressure put on them)(in 100 reviews)

  • "You can't deny that Zillow has pretty great benefits(in 58 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "More Than I Could Ever Ask For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free espresso, high quality breakfast bars, healthy and non-healthy snacks at any time. Relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere. Friendly people everywhere and there are cultural or timely events held by the culture committee weekly. My managers have all been approachable and friendly and I feel respected at work by my constituents.

    Cons

    None at this specific time.

    Zillow2019-11-12
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stands by core values, opportunity for growth, focused attention on investing in and supporting employees, great culture, great benefits.

    Cons

    Do not have any at present.

    Zillow2019-11-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pick your team carefully"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Terrific co-workers and IT support, excellent location and in-building perks (snacks, drinks, guest speakers).

    Cons

    Division management changing strategic course frequently without a clear explanation, causing chaos in the team.

    Advice to Management

    1.Pay attention to customers! After conducting interviews with many sales people and reporting a lot of negative feedback from customers, managers just shrugged and moved on to the next new program, saying that would fix it. But that program's goals didn't match what the customers were complaining about. :-( 2.Act on employee survey reports and suggestions. My team had low scores every survey, and the management... team didn't prioritize making any improvements. 3.Trust your employees to be adults and do their work, and let them work from home. The office environment and coworkers are great, but as traffic gets worse, working from home one or two days a week can make all the difference.

    Show More
    Zillow2019-11-06
  4. "Great location, perks and community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location, food & snacks, reputation

    Cons

    Older demographic, not enough creativity

    Zillow2019-11-07
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - MBA Summer Intern 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great culture, perks, projects, and teams

    Cons

    The program is relatively new so the experience might be different from team to team

    Zillow2019-11-05
  6. "Great Place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership Smart People Various technology stacks

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes a lot of time to approve a new project or initiative

    Zillow2019-10-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Learn sales and then get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was an inside sales executive at Zillow and first and foremost - Zillow is a great place to learn sales. I came in new to the sales industry and Zillow really puts you in a sink-or-swim environment. This is what you're day will look like - Log into Salesforce - Use their dialing system - Call around 60-150 people a day and try to sell them lead generation What I liked was that management will listen to... calls and give you good feedback but they are pretty hands off. Most of the customers you'll be calling - have probably been called by Zillow an average of 20-50 times per year. It can suck but it forces you to be a good salesman. You'll learn how to overcome resistance, create time constraints, demo, build your own follow up processes. Zillow is so quota focused (you hit your quota or you get fired) and they are pretty attainable, so you can't just coast. If you work your butt off and you have sales ability you should be able to make six figures. A lot of the sales managers I had were really good people that would listen to you and want you to succeed. You can really leave your work at work. The second you clock out you aren't even allowed to send an email. Even though this review is mainly negative - I would still recommend Zillow if you are serious about sales and want to build good fundamentals.

    Show More

    Cons

    I started in early 2018 and left in early 2019 and this company is going downhill fast. I don't even know where to start. If you are sales/support (read: Denver hires) they don't give a crap about you as a person. It's the only job I've had in my professional career where they treat you like a kid. You are paid hourly and have to clock-in and out. You have to be there at 7:30 every morning even if you are... calling a region that won't be up for another hour or two. Limited vacation and they are really weird about quota relief. They have a policy where if you miss quota a couple times in a six month period you will get put on a final notice and let go. You have to get approval on vacation in advance and submit quota relief but you'll be scared to do that because you might be struggling that month. Want to take a vacation the last week of a month when you're at quota so you won't have stress? Tough luck. One of their core messages is "Zillow is a team sport" and it's the exact opposite. You'll be part of a 20 person team that is all calling the same accounts over and over and over. The people who do the best either spam emails (and never get in trouble for it) or call accounts that slip out of other reps name. I never once felt like I was winning sales because of my ability - it felt like I either got good inbounds or the timing was right when I called someone that a different rep demo'd a couple months ago. They have done a terrible job at setting up salesforce and their auto dialing system is terrible. They will raise quota yearly without giving you a raise. They hire like 4-5 new reps every month to a team because they know people will get burned out. When they launched Zillow Offers they started removing MAJOR regions and making it so you couldn't sell their anymore. I had friends in the Southeast that said Atlanta was basically 30% of their closings and they removed the city over night. They kept quota the same and basically said start selling crappy zip codes that agents don't want. You'll go into a company sales meeting and they will waste your time saying stuff like "EVERYONE BE A LION. GO OUT AND HUNT" instead of talking about the things that matter to sales people like inbound lead flow or getting better data in the CRM (hmm maybe put a field for zip codes they've bought in the past...) . They don't really care about their customers. They know there are major zip codes that deliver crappy leads because they still put their contact form on underpriced/unsellable plots of lands and when the agents complain they tell them tough luck. Prices got so outrageous that I felt guilty going over ROI and showing they would be lucky to even get a 1.5x ROI in most regions. I checked back in and probably 30%+ of the best sales reps (many who had been there since Trulia) finally decided to leave. In the end it's all about the money. You can sell hot, treat customers like crap and email spam as long as you hit numbers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The way you have your sales org is problematic. There aren't enough inbounds to go around and you treat revenue growth as a problem you can throw sales reps at. You have veteran sales guys that can crush demos cold calling 150 people a day. You have amazing sales people at Zillow but don't utilize them correctly. It really feels like you could lay off half of the sales force - feed more inbounds to top... reps and automate check ins/hire a business development company to set appointments and you would save on labor and keep your top reps happier. Find a way to segment your market better so your customers don't get bombarded with 100 calls a year. Be more flexible with your employees. Make quota harder to hit but penalize employees financially instead of having them worry about losing their job.

    Show More
    Zillow2019-11-07
  8. "A company that cares about its employees and is not afraid to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Awesome office, benefits, and perks - 401k match - med insurance w/ yearly allowance - WFH - Health allowance - discretionary time off [unlimited vacay as long as approved] - tech vending machine, monthly catered lunch - Zillow tower is beautiful - etc, just to name a few 2. Great work life balance Work hours are flexible as long as you do your duty You can do 6-3 days, come in at 9:30 for stand up... and leave at 3 PM if you need to 3. Ease of changing teams Company acknowledges people want new challenges and even provides guidance on how to do so successfully. People periodically move around different teams. 4. Great mission and attractive product Zillow Offers is at the forefront of transforming the real estate Overall, the company is in the process of changing this mid-large size company into a huge enterprise centered around all things Real Estate. No longer just a media company, but going into finance and buy/sell-ling homes with Zillow Home Loans and Zillow Offers -- all things Real Estate

    Show More

    Cons

    Company is going through a lot of changes trying to be at the forefront of all the change 1. Suddenly hired thousands of people in Seattle office, which is causing a bit of friction among people 2. Market is yet to be convinced and our stock prices are dropping 3. Budget cuts are happening for things like holiday parties 3. Some experienced engineers are leaving due to compensation not being as high as they... anticipated

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We understand that the business model needs to be changed, but it would be much appreciated if the C-suite people acknowledged and were more sympathetic of its impacts to the employees. Overall, thanks for at least trying to open up more and be more transparent with new events such as chats with CEO and bi-monthly Q&As.

    Zillow2019-10-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing, transformative company with roots in consumer empowerment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Information Technology in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great, intelligent, caring people. Opportunities to develop career, be part of an organization that is truly changing the industry. Leadership that is true to stated values.

    Cons

    A company that continually changes like Zillow can be challenging, and requires flexibility and discipline to be successful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep true to how Zillow started.

    Zillow2019-10-19
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Lead 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, great work culture

    Cons

    I don't think anything stands out here

    Zillow2019-10-21
Found 765 reviews