Zillow Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zillow Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geospatial Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Despite having over 2,000 employees, Zillow Group still feels like a small company. The office has an open plan, and you can go talk to anyone in the company (or use Slack) about whatever, whenever. The people and the office space are a really great environment for success. I could list hundreds of other fantastic things about Zillow, but that would take forever!

    Cons

    Open office spaces aren't for everyone. It can be distracting to see and hear people around your desk while you're trying to work. Otherwise, I don't have anything to complain about!

    Zillow2020-03-15
  2. Helpful (6)

    "It is really a roll of the dice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, okay pay, wonderful location

    Cons

    Depends which org you end up, members of my org from directors down to IC who have been there for the past 5years create a super political toxic environment. Dead end career and too much negative talking.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-03-19
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Average tech company problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits Med, stock, 401K, Dental, Vision -Great opportunities to learn and grow with Linkedin classes, manager trainings, conference budgets etc. - Direct manager is great and supportive when needed - Collaborators are skilled and eager to work together to get the work done

    Cons

    There are a lot of typical tech company problems and some that are unique to Zillow. - Hours: expect to work 50-60 hours, not 40 - Not family friendly - Turnover is high even for tech - Firings are common - Fast turnarounds with lots of churn on work - Teams are overextended and sometimes, unhappy - Lots of production, not a lot of creative work - 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving little time to design - Too many meetings. This is a big one. Here is the typical approval process: A project will need to be approved by your manager (very typical and necessary), then in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr (no problem), and in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr's mgr (am I in the movie Office Space? Why can't this be in the same meeting?), then pitched to stakeholders all in the span of 2 days and incorporating all mgr feedback along the way. This happens about 3 rounds a project and never happens in the same meeting. After that, it's simple math. You must schedule 4 separate meetings for each of the 3 rounds of feedback, that's 12 meetings for a month long project. Let's say you are assigned to 6-10 projects. That's conservatively, 72 meetings for 6 projects a month divided by 20 working days which equals 3-4 mgr meetings a day plus all the normal manager 1 on 1s, team meetings and company meetings. That's why you're in 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving 2-4 hours for design.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-03-09

    Zillow Response

    March 17, 2020CPO

    Thank you for your years of dedication to the company and your teams. As a 5 year veteran, you have seen a lot of changes, and right now, we're in the midst of one of the biggest changes yet. There are both exciting and challenging things ahead, but this requires new ways of doing things and working together. Specifically, as we move fast and work hard, efficiency is key. I encourage you to address this within your team and be vocal about solutions, especially given your strong relationship with your manager. Efficiency must be a priority across the company and we all need to be open to ideas here and respond. Please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com if you ever want to share your thoughts. - Dan Spaulding

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Support System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive, Premier Agent in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Environment, Benefits, Team Inclusion

    Cons

    This position is the hardest job I’ve ever hard, just due to the nature of the type of sale

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-03-06

    Zillow Response

    March 17, 2020CPO

    It's exciting to hear that your time with Zillow has been rewarding. "Hardest job" combined with "best team experience" is a powerful balance. The expectations can be high. But in an environment of support and you say, inclusion, the effort can be really rewarding. Thank you for your dedication. And we'll continue to ensure this remains a place where everyone feels supported and valued. If you ever want to share your experiences with me directly please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com - Dan Spaulding

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The best work culture I have ever been a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at Zillow because of the people I got to work with. The people I was surrounded by at work, as well as my manager, made each day fun and energizing. There are many opportunities to move around the company, and they encourage you to do so. There are great events, they take great care of you with snacks and food at the office, and the views are second to none, which makes the world of difference!

    Cons

    Things can change very quickly, so must be adaptable and okay with that to work here.

    Zillow2020-03-04

    Zillow Response

    March 17, 2020CPO

    We take pride in and have always been intentional about creating a culture where people are supported personally and professionally. We can't do our best work or achieve our goals without highly motivated employees. Thank you for sharing about your experience if you ever want to share more thoughts please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com. - Dan Spaulding

    Continue reading
  6. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Lead in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Has tons of benefits and decent pay and employee centric

    Cons

    Can have additional benefit towards parking

    Zillow2020-02-21

    Zillow Response

    March 13, 2020VP, Recruiting

    Glad to hear it's been a great experience for you. Thanks for the review.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Partner success manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    First of all I would say that if you are able to get into the rentals organization you will love it. Since I have transitioned from premier agent to rentals I have been enjoying work again. They rental organization is looking to split off and create its own revenue stream separate from premier agent and the vibe down there is completely different! Best move I have made in my Zillow career is moving down to the rentals organization!

    Cons

    Premier agent side of the business is where I started at Zillow. It was fun for a time but now has just grown to more of a grind. Up there you are a number and how your day goes really depends on your manager. If you have a good manager who doesn’t micro manager you will be great. The worst part of my experience at Zillow is there is never a straight answer given in premier agent. It varies wildly from manager to manger and how much they like you. Plus there is pettiness that goes on in within the teams and it can lead to toxic environments. Since I have been working at Zillow the quotas have almost doubled and the payout has remained the same which just breeds resentment from the workforce.

    Zillow2020-02-10

    Zillow Response

    February 15, 2020CPO

    Thank you for your honest review. While I am encouraged that your experience in your new role is going well it is disappointing to hear your previous experience. We should not be inconsistent from manager to manager and are constantly looking for ways to better support our managers so they can better support our employees. If you would like to share your thoughts with me directly please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Great Company But Be Wary Of Your Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are plenty of amazing teammates that support each other, take care of each other and help each other succeed- very much that family feel. There are office perks that help you make it through your day. Work is quite steady and there are some managers who exemplify the meaning of managers and are there to help when issues arise and do what they can to help you succeed in your role. The affinity groups are AMAZING to help you feel like you belong, no matter where you are in your life.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the cons started at the interview stage, but only later felt. In making a drastic career move as all advisors did, most (including myself) were very specific, vocal and very concerned about certain questions regarding our licenses as real estate agents. The questions were asked and answered and put to ease so that we could move forward in accepting the positions as advisors. A few short months later after vesting our time and our knowledge into Zillow Offers, we found that the questions we had answered were flipped and contradicted to what we were told. As months went by, many of the important items that brought us into the role (such as pay, performance and movement in the company) were changed. As Zillow Offers grew, we were proud to tell customers that Zillow is not a “Bait and Switch” company- which amazingly, they uphold that high standard, but unfortunately, I feel it did not apply to the treatment of advisors themselves. The growing of the company with constant changes made me feel like we were being set up for failure. When going through your interview process for this position, be wary of the answers given. If there is something that is a deal breaker for you taking the position, know that there is a chance what was told will be changed under the question asked: “Are you able to work in a fast moving, ever changing company.”

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-02-10

    Zillow Response

    March 10, 2020President, Zillow

    Thank you for your honest review. While I am encouraged by the feedback you shared about your teammates and your feeling valued, supported and that you belong, I'm sorry to hear that you feel the experience has not lived up to your expectations. Providing employees within Zillow Offers with opportunities to learn and grow in this dynamic environment is really important to me. I'd be interested in learning more about your experience so we can be sure that we are "turning on the lights" and that our Zillow Offers team is supported in building successful careers. Feel free to reach out to me at jeremyw@zillowgroup.com. - Jeremy Wacksman

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, inclusivity, benefits, everything is pretty on point

    Cons

    Pay, nothing else To be honest

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-02-08

    Zillow Response

    February 10, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review. Really glad to hear that you felt a sense of belonging and connection during your time here at Zillow Group. As you experienced firsthand, equity and belonging is something we are continuously focusing on, and is always top of mind. If you have thoughts or feedback on how we can continue to evolve please email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Thanks again for sharing your experience and best of luck in your next opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  10. "Front Desk Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and great pay

    Cons

    I haven't found any yet

    Zillow2020-02-06

    Zillow Response

    February 15, 2020CPO

    Thanks for your review - I am pleased you are having a great experience. Please never hesitate to reach out with any feedback to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

    Continue reading
Found 798 reviews